Jobs for Today and Tomorrow banner

: A Look at Ontario’s Economy

Ontario is a leader in economic growth and job creation at a time when the world is facing economic uncertainty. Lower oil prices, a more competitive Canadian dollar and a solid U.S. economy have helped Ontario’s economy grow and create jobs, and these factors should help this growth continue.

While the government recognizes the uncertainty that people in Ontario and Canada are facing, Ontario’s economy is projected to be one of the fastest growing in Canada. The government’s plan is building new partnerships and making strategic investments to continue growing the economy and creating more jobs. More than 600,000 jobs have been created since the recessionary low in June 2009. Ontario is projected to create more than 300,000 jobs by the end of 2019, which would bring the total to more than 900,000 net new jobs over a 10-year period.

Jobs for Today

Ontario’s strong economy is helping create high-quality jobs and has reduced the province’s unemployment rate to below the national average for the first time since 2005.

Ontario’s unemployment rate is below the Canadian average
In January 2016
Ontario’s Unemployment Rate Canada’s Unemployment Rate
6.7% 7.2%
Ontario’s unemployment rate dropped 0.5 percentage points
from 2014 to 2015
In 2014
Ontario’s Unemployment Rate
In 2015
Ontario’s Unemployment Rate
7.3% 6.8%

Since the global recession, the majority of the net new jobs in Ontario are full time, in the private sector and in industries that pay above-average wages.

Jobs for Tomorrow

The Province is projected to create more jobs and lower its unemployment rate as Ontario continues to be among the leaders in provincial economic growth.

Ontario’s unemployment rate is projected to fall
every year from 2016 to 2019
2016
Unemployment Rate
2017
Unemployment Rate
2018
Unemployment Rate
2019
Unemployment Rate
6.6% 6.4% 6.3% 6.1%

*All numbers projected.

Ontario is projected to create more than 300,000 net new jobs
by the end of 2019
2016
Net New Jobs
2017
Net New Jobs
2018
Net New Jobs
2019
Net New Jobs
78,000 85,000 82,000 79,000

*All numbers projected.

Real GDP Growth for Today

Ontario’s real GDP growth is expected to outpace
the national average

In 2015
Ontario’s Real GDP Growth Canada’s Real GDP Growth
2.5% 1.2%

*All numbers projected.

Real GDP Growth for Tomorrow

Ontario’s real GDP is projected to grow on average by 2.2 per cent a
year from 2016 to 2019
2016
Real GDP Growth
2017
Real GDP Growth
2018
Real GDP Growth
2019
Real GDP Growth
2.2% 2.4% 2.2% 2.0%

*All numbers projected.

Path to Balance

The government’s plan to eliminate the deficit is working, on target and on schedule. The 2016 Budget advances the plan while continuing to invest in the economy, people and a healthy, clean and prosperous low-carbon future. The government is projecting a deficit of $5.7 billion in 2015–16 and is on track to beat its deficit target for the seventh year in a row. Looking forward, the government is now projecting a deficit of $4.3 billion in 2016–17 and a balanced budget in both 2017–18 and 2018–19.

As an indication of greater sustainability in the Province’s management of its debt, net debt-to-GDP is expected to peak at 39.6 per cent in 2015–16, remain level in 2016–17 and begin to decline in 2017–18.

Two Ways Ontario Is Eliminating the Deficit

1. Transforming Government and Managing Costs

Ontario is managing spending and improving the effectiveness, efficiency and sustainability of its services, while continuing to review programs, including public services and internal administration. This approach will help Ontario:

Limit the average program
spending growth to less than
2%
annually until 2018–19.
Balance the budget in
2017–18 and
2018–19.

2. Addressing the Underground Economy

Businesses contribute to the underground economy when they fail to report their income for tax purposes or avoid other regulatory obligations. Participating in the underground economy creates an unfair advantage for these businesses and puts the safety of consumers and workers at risk. By combating these actions, Ontario is protecting consumers and workers, making sure that businesses pay their fair share of taxes and helping ensure the sustainability of essential services, such as health care and education.

Since 2013–14, Ontario has generated
$930 million
through initiatives that ensure everyone pays
their fair share of taxes.

This is a
$330 million
increase over the amount reported in the 2015 Budget.

Chart Descriptions

Ontario’s Plan to Eliminate the Deficit

This bar chart shows projections for Ontario’s fiscal outlook in 2015–16, 2016–17, 2017–18 and 2018–19. The 2015–16 deficit is projected to be $5.7 billion, a $2.8 billion improvement compared to the $8.5 billion deficit forecasted in the 2015 Budget. In 2016–17, Ontario’s deficit is projected to be $4.3 billion, a $0.5 billion improvement compared to the $4.8 billion deficit forecasted in the 2015 Budget. Ontario is projected to balance its budget in both 2017–18 and 2018–19.

Return to Chart

Des emplois pour aujourd’hui et demain

: Aperçu de l’économie ontarienne

L’Ontario est maintenant un chef de file en matière de croissance économique et de création d’emplois dans un contexte mondial d’incertitude économique. Les faibles prix du pétrole, un dollar canadien plus concurrentiel et une économie américaine solide ont contribué à faire croître l’économie de l’Ontario et à créer des emplois, ces facteurs devant aider la poursuite de la croissance.

Le gouvernement est conscient de l’incertitude qui pèse sur la population de l’Ontario et du Canada; malgré cette incertitude, l’économie de l’Ontario devrait connaître l’une des croissances les plus rapides au Canada. Le gouvernement établit de nouveaux partenariats et effectue des investissements stratégiques cruciaux afin de continuer à faire croître l’économie et à créer plus d’emplois. Plus de 600 000 emplois ont été créés depuis les pires moments de la récession, en juin 2009. L’Ontario prévoit la création de plus de 300 000 emplois d’ici la fin de 2019, ce qui porterait ainsi le total à plus de 900 000 nouveaux emplois nets sur une période de 10 ans.

Des emplois pour aujourd’hui

L’économie robuste de l’Ontario contribue à créer des emplois de grande qualité et a ramené le taux de chômage de la province sous la barre de la moyenne nationale pour la première fois depuis 2005.

Le taux de chômage en Ontario est inférieur à la moyenne canadienne
En janvier 2016
Taux de chômage de l’Ontario Taux de chômage du Canada
6,7 % 7,2 %
Le taux de chômage de l’Ontario a chuté de 0,5 point de pourcentage
en 2015 par rapport à son niveau de 2014
En 2014
Taux de chômage de l’Ontario
En 2015
Taux de chômage de l’Ontario
7,3 % 6,8 %

La plupart des nouveaux emplois nets créés depuis la récession mondiale sont des emplois à temps plein, situés dans le secteur privé et dans les industries où les salaires sont supérieurs à la moyenne.

Des emplois pour demain

La province prévoit continuer à créer des emplois et à faire baisser le taux de chômage alors que l’Ontario continue de figurer parmi les chefs de file sur le plan de la croissance économique provinciale.

Selon les projections, le taux de chômage en Ontario devrait reculer
chaque année entre 2016 et 2019
2016
Taux de chômage
2017
Taux de chômage
2018
Taux de chômage
2019
Taux de chômage
6,6 % 6,4 % 6,3 % 6,1 %

*Tous les chiffres sont des projections.

Selon les projections, l’Ontario devrait créer plus de
300 000 nouveaux emplois nets d’ici la fin de 2019
2016
Nouveaux emplois nets
2017
Nouveaux emplois nets
2018
Nouveaux emplois nets
2019
Nouveaux emplois nets
78 000 85 000 82 000 79 000

*Tous les chiffres sont des projections.

Croissance du PIB réel aujourd’hui

La croissance du PIB réel de l’Ontario devrait surpasser la moyenne
nationale

En 2015
Croissance du PIB réel de l’Ontario Croissance du PIB réel du Canada
2,5 % 1,2 %

*Tous les chiffres sont des projections.

Croissance du PIB réel demain

Le PIB réel de l’Ontario devrait augmenter en moyenne de 2,2 %
par an entre 2016 et 2019
2016
Croissance du PIB réel
2017
Croissance du PIB réel
2018
Croissance du PIB réel
2019
Croissance du PIB réel
2,2 % 2,4 % 2,2 % 2,0 %

*Tous les chiffres sont des projections.

La voie vers l’équilibre

Le plan du gouvernement visant à éliminer le déficit fonctionne, progresse tel que prévu et selon l’échéancier fixé. Le budget de 2016, qui s’inscrit dans le plan du gouvernement, continue d’investir dans l’économie, la population et un avenir sain, propre, prospère et sobre en carbone. Le gouvernement prévoit un déficit de 5,7 milliards de dollars en 2015-2016 et est en bonne voie de dépasser ses objectifs de réduction du déficit pour la septième année de suite. Se tournant vers l’avenir, le gouvernement anticipe maintenant un déficit de 4,3 milliards de dollars en 2016-2017 et le retour à l’équilibre budgétaire en 2017-2018 et 2018-2019.

À titre d’indicateur de la viabilité accrue de la gestion de la dette de la province, on prévoit que le ratio de la dette nette au PIB atteindra un sommet de 39,6 % en 2015-2016 et se stabilisera en 2016-2017, pour ensuite commencer à diminuer en 2017-2018.

L’Ontario élimine le déficit de deux manières

1. Réorganiser le gouvernement et gérer les coûts

L’Ontario gère les dépenses et améliore l’efficacité, l’efficience et la viabilité de ses services, tout en continuant d’examiner les programmes, y compris les services publics et l’administration interne. Cette approche aidera l’Ontario à :

Plafonner la croissance moyenne des
dépenses de programmes à moins de
2 %
par an jusqu’à 2018-2019
Équilibrer le budget en
2017-2018 et
2018-2019

2. Contrer l’économie souterraine

Les entreprises contribuent à alimenter l’économie souterraine lorsqu’elles négligent de déclarer leurs revenus aux fins de l’impôt ou font fi des autres exigences réglementaires. La participation à l’économie souterraine donne un avantage injuste à ces entreprises et met en jeu la sécurité des consommateurs et des travailleurs. En luttant contre ces actions, l’Ontario protège les consommateurs et les travailleurs en veillant à ce que les entreprises paient leur juste part des taxes et impôts et en contribuant à assurer la pérennité des services essentiels, comme les soins de santé et l’éducation.

Depuis 2013-2014, l’Ontario a généré
930 millions de dollars
par l’entremise d’initiatives faisant en sorte que chacun paie
sa juste part d’impôt et de taxes.

930 millions de dollars, une hausse de
330 millions de dollars
par rapport au montant indiqué dans le budget de 2015.

Description des graphiques

Plan de l’Ontario visant à éliminer le déficit 

Ce graphique à barres montre les projections concernant les perspectives financières en Ontario en 2015-2016, 2016-2017, 2017-2018 et 2018-2019. On prévoit que le déficit sera de 5,7 milliards de dollars en 2015-2016, ce qui représente une amélioration de 2,8 milliards de dollars par rapport au déficit de 8,5 milliards de dollars qui avait été prévu dans le budget de 2015. En 2016-2017, le déficit de l’Ontario devrait être de 4,3 milliards de dollars, soit 0,5 milliard de dollars de moins que le déficit de 4,8 milliards de dollars qui avait été prévu dans le budget de 2015. L’Ontario devrait équilibrer son budget en 2017-2018 et 2018-2019.

Retourner au graphique