Jobs for Today and Tomorrow banner

: Transforming Health Care

Ontario’s economy supports strong public services. Health care is one of the most important provincial services on which Ontarians rely. Through recent actions to transform health care, the Province has increased patients’ access to primary care, provided more care for people at home, and reduced wait times for surgeries, diagnostic procedures and emergency department care. The government has invested almost $2 billion to significantly reduce wait times since 2003–04.

The government has succeeded in bringing down annual spending growth on health care from about seven per cent to about two per cent — while continuing to improve access to care.

Faster Access to Health Care

Primary Care

  • For patients with multiple conditions and the most complex care needs, the government has expanded its community Health Links — local, interdisciplinary care teams — to 82 from 69 across the province.
  • To further reduce wait times for key health care services, the Province is planning to:
    • Expand the scope of practice of registered nurses, allowing them to prescribe some medications directly to patients; and
    • Make more vaccines available, such as travel vaccines, through pharmacists.
  • Ontario will invest an additional $85 million over three years to ensure primary care teams can effectively recruit and retain qualified interprofessional staff. These investments will help clinics continue to provide services across the province, including northern, rural and fast-growing communities.

Better Access to Specialized Care

  • The Province is contributing to the cost of one in vitro fertilization cycle per eligible patient, at more than 50 clinics across Ontario.
  • In 2016–17, the government will provide about $1 million to fund support services for those affected by pregnancy and infant loss, including resources to train volunteers and support parents and families who have experienced loss.

Investments in High-Quality Hospital Care

  • The government is increasing funding for hospitals by $345 million in response to the growing demand for highly specialized and complex services and the need to expand access in growing communities across the province.
  • Ontario plans to provide $12 billion over 10 years in capital grants to hospitals to continue building essential infrastructure. Currently there are about 35 major hospital projects under construction or in various stages of planning right across the province.

Expanding Services in Cancer Care

  • The Province is investing an additional $130 million in cancer care services, over the next three years, allowing for the delivery of more services and preventive programs.
  • Ontario is also investing in infrastructure to improve access to stem cell transplantation programs. This investment will create highly specialized rooms to enhance the life-saving services provided at Toronto’s University Health Network, Hamilton Health Sciences Centre and The Ottawa Hospital.

Mental Health and Addictions

  • Phase Two of the Province’s 10-year Mental Health and Addictions Strategy includes investing $16 million over three years, starting in 2014–15, to create 1,000 new housing spaces for people with mental health and addictions issues, including $4 million for 248 supportive housing units in 2016–17.
  • Ontario is also providing $1.5 million to the Dave Smith Youth Treatment Centre in Ottawa to support the construction of a new 30-bed youth residential treatment facility that will increase capacity, improve efficiency and ensure client needs are met in a safe and comfortable environment.
  • The Province is providing $2 million to 10 Indigenous organizations to engage with their communities and make recommendations on the unique mental health and addictions issues facing Indigenous peoples.

Sustaining Ontario's Public Drug Programs

  • The Province will introduce a redesigned public drug program by 2019. The new program will improve long-term sustainability while ensuring access to drugs for people who need them.
  • Starting August 1, 2016, the income thresholds to qualify for the low-income seniors’ benefit will increase from $16,018 to $19,300 for single seniors and from $24,175 to $32,300 for senior couples, consistent with the Guaranteed Annual Income System (GAINS) income levels.
    • Under these new thresholds, up to 170,000 seniors will be eligible to pay less for their prescription medications.
    • For seniors with income above these new thresholds, the annual deductible under the Ontario Drug Benefit Program will be increased from $100 to $170 and co-payments will be increased from $6.11 to $7.11 per claim.

Providing More Coordinated Care in the Community

  • Ontario has extended its commitment to increase funding by $250 million to expand capacity to deliver high-quality home and community care.
    • The government plans to continue to fund growth in community-based care at about five per cent per year to 2017–18, as committed to in previous Budgets.
  • The Province is investing an additional $75 million over the next three years in community-based, residential hospice and palliative care, for a total of about $155 million.
    • This will bring Ontario’s funding of residential hospices to more than $55 million annually in 2018–19.
  • The government will invest an additional $10 million annually in Behavioural Supports Ontario to help long-term care home residents with dementia and other complex behaviours and neurological conditions.
  • The Province will increase its investment in resident care needs by two per cent a year over the next three years.

Keeping Ontarians Healthy

  • The Ontario legislature passed the Healthy Menu Choices Act, 2015, which comes into force in January 2017. The Act will require food premises with 20 or more locations to post calorie information for food and beverage items.
    • To further help consumers, the government is proposing to amend the Act to require the caloric and related information on menus and menu boards to appear close to the listing or picture of food items.
  • The government is developing amendments to the Immunization of School Pupils Act that, if passed, would protect students and communities by including stronger requirements for school vaccine exemptions.
  • The Province is proposing to authorize pharmacists to administer a wider range of vaccines, increasing immunization efficiency and convenience for Ontarians.
  • The government is making the shingles vaccine free for eligible Ontario seniors between the ages of 65 and 70 — saving them about $170 and reducing emergency room visits and hospitalizations.
  • To further support smoking cessation prevention efforts, the Province is increasing the tobacco tax rate by $3 per carton of 200 cigarettes, and increasing tobacco taxes annually at the rate of inflation beginning in 2017.
    • The Province will use $5 million of increased revenues from the tobacco tax to support a new investment that will enhance priority populations’ access to smoking cessation services, no matter where they live in Ontario.

Des emplois pour aujourd’hui et demain

: Transformation des soins de santé

L’économie de l’Ontario soutient de solides services publics. Les soins de santé constituent l’un des plus importants services provinciaux sur lesquels comptent les Ontariennes et Ontariens. Grâce aux mesures récemment mises en oeuvre pour transformer les soins de santé, la province a facilité l’accès des patients aux soins primaires, a prodigué davantage de soins à domicile et a réduit les temps d’attente pour les interventions chirurgicales, les examens diagnostiques ainsi que les soins dispensés aux urgences. Depuis 2003-2004, le gouvernement a investi près de 2 milliards de dollars pour réduire considérablement les temps d’attente.

Le gouvernement a réussi à réduire la croissance annuelle des dépenses en santé pour la faire passer d’environ 7 % à environ 2 %, tout en continuant d’améliorer l’accès aux soins de santé.

Accélérer l’accès aux soins de santé

Soins primaires

  • Pour les patients qui présentent des troubles multiples et nécessitent les soins les plus complexes, le gouvernement a augmenté le nombre de ses maillons santé communautaires, composés d’équipes locales de soins interdisciplinaires, pour les faire passer de 69 à 82 à l’échelle de la province.
  • Afin de réduire davantage les temps d’attente pour les services de santé clés, la province prévoit également :
    • élargir le champ de pratique des infirmières autorisées afin de leur permettre de prescrire directement certains médicaments;
    • rendre plus de vaccins disponibles, comme les vaccins de voyage, par l’entremise des pharmaciens.
  • L’Ontario investira 85 millions de dollars supplémentaires sur trois ans pour s’assurer que les équipes de soins primaires puissent efficacement recruter et maintenir en poste un personnel multidisciplinaire qualifié. Ces investissements permettront aux cliniques de continuer à fournir des services à l’échelle de la province, y compris dans les collectivités rurales et du Nord ainsi que les communautés connaissant une croissance rapide.

Un meilleur accès aux soins spécialisés

  • La province contribue, dans plus de 50 cliniques à l’échelle de l’Ontario, au coût d’un cycle de fertilisation in vitro par patiente admissible.
  • En 2016-2017, le gouvernement fournira environ 1 million de dollars afin de financer les services aux personnes touchées par une fausse couche ou la perte d’un enfant. Cette mesure comporte des ressources pour former des bénévoles et appuyer les parents et les familles endeuillés.

Investissements pour des soins hospitaliers de grande qualité

  • Le gouvernement augmente de 345 millions de dollars le financement des hôpitaux en réponse à la demande croissante de services complexes et très spécialisés ainsi qu’au besoin d’améliorer l’accès aux soins de santé dans les collectivités en croissance à l’échelle de la province.
  • L’Ontario prévoit affecter 12 milliards de dollars sur 10 ans en subventions d’immobilisations aux hôpitaux pour poursuivre la construction d’infrastructures essentielles. À l’heure actuelle, quelque 35 grands projets hospitaliers sont en construction ou à diverses étapes de planification aux quatre coins de la province.

Élargissement des services oncologiques

  • La province investira une somme additionnelle de 130 millions de dollars dans les services oncologiques au cours des trois prochaines années, ce qui permettra d’offrir davantage de services et de programmes de prévention.
  • L’Ontario fait également des investissements dans les infrastructures afin d’augmenter l’accès aux programmes hautement spécialisés de greffe de cellules souches en Ontario. Cet investissement permettra d’aménager des chambres de soins très spécialisés, ce qui contribuera à sauver des vies en améliorant les services prodigués par le Réseau universitaire de santé à Toronto, le centre des sciences de la santé de Hamilton et L’Hôpital d’Ottawa.

Santé mentale et dépendances

  • La phase 2 de la Stratégie décennale de santé mentale et de lutte contre les dépendances de l’Ontario comporte un investissement de 16 millions de dollars sur trois ans, versés à compter de 2014-2015. Grâce à ces fonds, il sera possible de créer 1 000 nouvelles places de logement pour les personnes aux prises avec des problèmes de santé mentale et de dépendance. De cet investissement, 4 millions de dollars sont consacrés à 248 logements avec services de soutien en 2016-2017.
  • L’Ontario versera également 1,5 million de dollars au centre de traitement pour jeunes Dave Smith d’Ottawa afin de contribuer à la construction d’un nouvel immeuble de 30 lits pour le traitement en établissement des jeunes, permettant ainsi d’augmenter la capacité, d’améliorer l’efficacité et de faire en sorte que les besoins des pensionnaires soient satisfaits dans un environnement sécuritaire et confortable.
  • La province fournit 2 millions de dollars à 10 organismes autochtones afin qu’ils consultent leurs collectivités, puis fassent des recommandations sur les enjeux uniques en matière de santé mentale et de dépendance touchant les Autochtones.

Appuyer les programmes de médicaments publics de l’Ontario

  • La province présentera, d’ici 2019, un programme public de médicaments entièrement remanié pour en améliorer la viabilité à long terme tout en veillant à ce que les gens qui ont besoin de médicaments puissent y avoir accès.
  • À compter du 1er août 2016, les seuils de revenus ouvrant droit à des prestations pour personnes âgées à faible revenu passeront de 16 018 $ à 19 300 $ pour les personnes seules et de 24 175 $ à 32 300 $ pour les couples, conformément aux niveaux de revenus du Régime de revenu annuel garanti (RRAG).
    • Les modifications apportées aux seuils élargiront l’accès pour environ 170 000 aînés de plus qui deviendront admissibles aux prestations pour personnes âgées à faible revenu.
    • Pour les personnes âgées dont le revenu excède ces nouveaux seuils, la franchise annuelle du Programme de médicaments de l’Ontario passera de 100 $ à 170 $ et les quotes-parts passeront de 6,11 $ à 7,11 $ par demande.

Offrir davantage de soins coordonnés en milieu communautaire

  • Afin de pouvoir offrir davantage de soins de grande qualité à domicile et en milieu communautaire, l’Ontario a prolongé son engagement d’en augmenter le financement de 250 millions de dollars.
    • Le gouvernement prévoit continuer à financer la prestation accrue des soins de santé en milieu communautaire à hauteur d’environ 5 % par année jusqu’en 2017-2018, conformément à l’engagement annoncé dans les budgets précédents.
  • Le gouvernement investira au cours des trois prochaines années 75 millions de dollars de plus dans les soins palliatifs communautaires et dans des maisons de soins palliatifs portant l’investissement total à environ 155 millions de dollars.
    • Cela portera le financement des maisons de soins palliatifs par le gouvernement à plus de 55 millions de dollars par an en 2018-2019.
  • Le gouvernement investira 10 millions de dollars supplémentaires chaque année dans le Projet ontarien de soutien en cas de troubles du comportement. Ce financement aidera les résidents des foyers de soins de longue durée qui sont atteints de démence ou d’autres troubles comportementaux et neurologiques complexes.
  • La province augmentera son investissement dans les soins aux résidents de 2 % annuellement durant les trois prochaines années.

Maintenir les Ontariennes et Ontariens en santé

  • L’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario a adopté la Loi de 2015 pour des choix santé dans les menus, laquelle entrera en vigueur en janvier 2017. Aux termes de cette loi, les lieux de restauration ayant 20 établissements ou plus doivent afficher le nombre de calories de leurs aliments et boissons.
    • Afin d’aider davantage les consommateurs, le gouvernement propose de modifier la Loi afin d’exiger que les calories et d’autres renseignements nutritionnels soient indiqués sur les menus et les tableaux d’affichage près du nom ou de l’illustration des aliments proposés.
  • Dans le cadre de cette stratégie, le gouvernement prépare des modifications à la Loi sur l’immunisation des élèves qui, si elles sont adoptées, protégeraient les élèves et les collectivités en établissant des critères plus stricts d’exemption de la vaccination des élèves.
  • La province propose d’autoriser les pharmaciens à administrer une gamme plus étendue de vaccins, ce qui augmentera l’efficacité de l’immunisation et la commodité pour les Ontariennes et Ontariens.
  • Le gouvernement offre gratuitement le vaccin contre le zona aux personnes âgées de l’Ontario qui ont de 65 à 70 ans, ce qui leur fera économiser environ 170 $ et réduira les visites aux urgences ainsi que les hospitalisations.
  • Afin d’appuyer davantage les efforts de prévention et d’abandon du tabagisme, la province augmente la taxe sur le tabac de 3 $ par cartouche de 200 cigarettes et continuera d’augmenter les taxes sur le tabac chaque année au même rythme que l’inflation à compter de 2017.
    • La province affectera 5 millions de dollars de l’augmentation des revenus provenant de la taxe sur le tabac pour rendre plus accessibles aux populations prioritaires les services d’abandon du tabac, peu importe où elles vivent en Ontario.